Whole30 journey

Hi, everyone!! I am so sorry for the big gap between posts. These last few weeks have been overloaded and crazy but filled with all good things. I have been away and out of town for the past 3 weekends celebrating weddings, homecoming, and time with my best friends from college. I had every intention of still writing posts on Sunday evening when I got back each weekend but I was always so wiped out that resting seemed like a better idea at the time 🙂

I am going to keep it pretty short and sweet this week but I promise I have some more exciting things coming down the pipeline for you soon! The holiday season is fast approaching (which is crazy to think about….) so its my favorite time of the year to decorate and try new things to show all of you!

As for today’s topic….these next 30 days I am embarking on a challenging journey with my mom called the Whole30 plan. Many of you have probably heard of this or even taken the challenge yourself! I won’t dive in to a lot of the specifics because there are lots of details that would be overwhelming at first.

whole30header

This program was created by Melissa and Dallas Hartwig and has been very popular in the last couple of years. This program is essentially a 30 day clean eating plan that eliminates many food groups and gets you “back to the basics”. The major eliminator of the plan is all non-naturally occurring sugar. Once you start reading the labels on food you will be AMAZED how many products that you wouldn’t expect have sugar listed as an ingredient (chicken broth….what!?!) and there are so many different names for sugar that you have to be very careful.

If I had to sum up the plan you can have (MOST) meats, fish, eggs, nuts, (MOST) veggies, and all fruits. You can’t have any grains, dairy of any kind (except for eggs), legumes, alcohol, or processed food of any kind. As I mentioned this is purely a high-level summary. There are lots of specifics for the plan that are outlined clearly in the materials and recipe books that you can use to research, plan, and educate yourself all about the philosophy behind the program.

Their first book on the subject is called “It Starts With Food” which explains their initial attempts at creating this clean eating plan and the amazing results they both saw when they committed to it for 30 days. Many of the testimonials throughout the book and other resources I’ve read are of people who suffered from a number of ailments (high blood pressure, high cholesterol, chrons disease, diabetes, frequent heartburn, just to name a few) who after eliminating these foods from their diet saw significant improvements in their health and symptoms associated with what they struggle with.

I am excited for the 30 days ahead but know that they will be very challenging!!! For me I know that cheese and chocolate will be the 2 toughest things to cut out. I’m looking forward to practicing my willpower and committing to the program. I’m also excited to see what I learn about myself and clean foods throughout the process. I will look forward to sharing the results from the program with all of you once I reach the end of the 30 days.

keep-calm-ig

If any of you reading this have tried the program yourself and have some great recipes, tips, personal accounts, I would love to hear them!!! Also, if after reading about this you are interested in starting the program yourself and want to have an accountability buddy let me know 🙂 I’d be happy to cheer you on!

Thanks for reading and have a great weekend ahead!

#sugarspiceandstylethatsnice

xoxo Jen

Leave a Reply

