green thumb rookie

With this being my first full summer in my townhouse there were a lot of things I wanted to do in order to make my place look as nice as possible from the outside! My patio was my first big task and then I knew that flowers were the next step. Thankfully, I have a mom who is very knowledgeable about her flowers and was able to help me pick things out that would work for the amount/type of sunlight I get in my yard πŸ™‚

A Mother’s Day tradition for my mom is always to buy her flowers and plant them on her day. This year in May we were able to enjoy a day of flower shopping and planting together! Here are a few pictures from a couple months ago when we were first planting. Luna was our little garden helper and she really like the smell of the marigolds.

It wasn’t necessarily my intention going in to my flower-picking to have orange as my main color but that is how things ended up turning out and I love it! I was drawn to the yellow and orange French Marigolds and then also picked out some deep purple and orange Celosias because I liked their fuzzy appearance/texture. My mom taught me that pots look best if you also include a “green” element of some kind that is more basic and fills in the spaces so it doesn’t look too overwhelming. I chose some Creeping Jenny (ironic name…not sure if I like it haha) and this really neat Corkscrew Rush that was unlike anything I’d seen before. The twisted look of it is unique and it grows really tall which I thought would be a nice complement to the rest of my choices.

In the past 6-8 weeks I can’t believe how much all of my flowers have exploded with growth! The long sunny days of June were perfect for them and have kept them really healthy. I love pulling into the driveway and seeing how nice they make the front yard look.

IMG_0496

I also opted to buy a nice hanging flower pot because the previous owners of my townhouse already had a nice hook installed. I went for a purple, pink, and yellow combination of Bidens, Petunias, and Verbena.

IMG_0494

We bought all of our flowers at Lowe’s this year which was a change from our usual trip to All Seasons. I was really impressed with the selection at Lowe’s and I’m even MORE impressed that I have managed to keep all of these flowers alive and well for the last couple of months! Historically, I have a pretty nasty track record with flowers/plants so I was nervous about how well I would do with my own flowers this year. I am looking forward to picking out something new and different for next year. I’m hoping my luck with these beauties continues and that my ritual for taking care of them will help to keep them looking great all throughout the summer.

P.S. One tip my mom gave me was to make sure to take photos of the “flags” from inside the flowers I bought this year that show their name, how tall they grow, what kind/how much sunlight they like, etc. That way I won’t forget the names if there is something I really want to buy again next year!

I hope you all had a great 4th of July weekend/week and that you are getting lots of sunshine πŸ™‚ Thanks so much for reading!

#sugarspiceandstylethatsnice

xoxo Jen

Leave a Reply

