apps on my mind

Hello everyone! I am back from another short hiatus….I was in Washington D.C. this past week for grad school and we had a non-stop week so I apologize that I wasn’t able to write! I will have a post coming soon with some pictures and sharing some memories from my trip 🙂

I wanted to give you a shorter post on some apps that I have been loving lately!! I’m talking technology apps on your phone and not appetizers….just to clear that up for everyone (hahah!) If you were hungry when you clicked on this link you might have thought otherwise!

Here are three apps from a few different categories that I think you should all check out:

  1. Acorns Image result for acorns app

Acorns is an app that I discovered while reading one of my business magazines. Acorns is a financial app that helps you engage in small scale amounts of savings each day without having to lift a finger…and the set up is really easy!

Essentially, what Acorns does is takes each transaction that you make with a debit card/checking account and rounds it to the nearest dollar. Any cents that are used in the rounding process to the next dollar are taken and automatically invested in penny stocks. You can choose the amount of risk you want to take with your investments when you set your account up but you don’t have to do any work…the app does it for you.

For example: if tomorrow morning you go to get coffee somewhere on your way to work and you use your debit card. Let’s say your total comes to $4.56. If you have Acorns set up on your phone and hooked up to your debit card/checking account, then 44 cents will automatically be taken from your checking account and invested in the stock market in penny stocks.

This is a great way to make small investments without feeling the hurt or hit of having to deposit large amounts of money into a retirement account or other financial vehicle. Taking 500 dollars and putting it somewhere hurts a lot more than cents on the dollar each day that you won’t even realize but can add up over time! You can monitor the performance of your deposits in the app and you can also choose to withdraw money out of the app and have it sent back to your checking account.

Follow this link to read more about the app before downloading

Image result for acorns app

  1. SheReadsTruth

This app is something I learned about from a friend I worked with in college and I have used it ever since. It is a daily devotional app that is geared towards women and the devotionals are written by other women! When I first started using the app I decided to begin with the “Bible in a Year” plan. This breaks the bible into 365 daily chunks and once you’ve reached the next year you’ve finished the whole bible! It can be a lot of reading some days but they break everything up for you.

Bible in a Year is just one of the many plans that you can choose to follow on the app. Some of the plans are free to download (and the app itself is free!) but some of the plans cost a small fee. Many of the plans will take you through a specific book of the bible. Those plans have a section of scripture reading each day as well as a short devotional and reflection to read afterwards. They also give you the ability to comment and discuss the readings through the app with other users which can be a great source of community.

Currently, I am doing the “Lent 2017: You Are Mine” plan and it has been so great so far. The Lenten season can be a great time for reflection and review on your life and the daily readings and devotionals have helped me to stay on track this season.

I highly recommend this app for everyone, especially those of you that feel extra busy. The devotional can take me 10 minutes on average each day which is a perfect amount of time to slow down and spend some time with the word. I usually do this right away in the morning or right before I go to bed so that I am not distracted by other things in the middle of the day. My favorite part of the app is the daily photos that they post at the end of each devotional section. The imagery they use is beautiful and you can save all of the photos to your phone and share them! I love to save my favorite and set them as my lock screen on my phone so that I see them often throughout the day.

Follow the link here 🙂

Image result for shereadstruth Image result for shereadstruth

 

3. Calm

Image result for calm app

Lastly, the Calm app is an app to help with mindfulness, improved sleep, and general stress relief. I haven’t been using the app for very long but I already really enjoy it! My favorite thing to do is to listen to the “sleep stories” when I lay down at night. Historically I haven’t had much trouble falling asleep at night, but over the last few months I have been getting less and less good rest. A friend recommended this app to me and I love the soothing voices and sounds. The idea behind the sleep stories is that it should remind us of when we were children and how we loved being told a story before or as we fell asleep at night. I usually find myself drifting to sleep before they story even ends!

You can also use the app to gear you towards becoming more mindful if that is your ultimate goal. I have lots to learn about this app and I’m sure that I will find more aspects of it that I choose to use down the road!

Check out more about the app here


Speaking of sleep….after being gone from work and “real life” for a week I’m going to get ready for bed so that I’m well rested and ready to tackle a new week being back in my regular routine! Have a great week, everyone 🙂

Thanks so much for reading,

#sugarspiceandstylethatsnice

xoxo Jen

One thought on “apps on my mind

  1. I have bedn surfing onnline mmore thhan three hours today, yett I never found anyy
    nteresting articlle liie yours. It’s prett worrth enpugh foor me.

    Personally, iff aall wensite owners andd bloggers made gopod conntent as yyou did, thhe nnet wiill bbe uch moe usefl
    than evfer before. It’s approprate timee tto make soome plan ffor thhe future andd it’s timme too
    bee happy. I’ve read thiss poszt andd iff I cold I dsire too sugggest you feww interesting things oor tips.
    Mayb youu can writ nexzt artices referrring to thijs
    article. I desire too reasd een more thngs abvout it!
    Woah! I’m really digging thhe template/theme off thiis blog.
    It’s simple, yyet effective. A loot oof times it’s challenging tto geet thazt “perfect balance” betwern user
    frirndliness aand visuual appearance. I mut saay tthat you’ve done a superdb joob with this.
    Also, thee blog loqds vesry quick forr mee
    oon Chrome. Superb Blog! http://cspan.co.uk/

    Like

Leave a Reply

