the quest for all 50

Throughout my blog journey so far I have been able to share a lot of my interests and passions with you. One that I haven’t touched on too much so far is my love of traveling. I have been fortunate to travel to many far away places even before I was a college graduate which isn’t the case for many people.

I grew up in a family with parents who always appreciated the value of a family vacation on a yearly basis. I have been able to visit many states with my parents and brother and spending time together as a family is always a good change of pace and allows for time to reset and recharge. One of our favorite vacation spots is Disneyworld….but there is so much to talk about there that I’ll have to save that post for another day 😀

The summer before my freshman year of college I spent a month backpacking Europe with 2 of my closest friends, visiting four countries: England, France, Germany, and Italy. It was an invigorating experience that taught me a lot about myself and learning to grow comfortable with independence which was the perfect experiment before moving to college.I have also been lucky enough to travel to Japan where I got to experience major cultural differences, learn more about their history, and try some very interesting food along the way!!

Although I have a so-called “bucket list” of some different countries I want to visit in my lifetime I also think about how unique the United States is. We are such a large country that is filled with different experiences from coast to coast. Just by traveling across a state-line you can find yourself in a whole new landscape with people speaking with interesting accents and eating food that is unique to their part of the country.

When I think about making travel plans I have to remember that looking within the US at different states is a great option to experience something new without traveling far away. My grandpa Roger is one cool guy and he has the privilege of saying that he’s traveled to all 50 states. He and my grandma did much of their traveling in road trip style to cover a majority of the states. Back in 2015 I was lucky to visit my grandpa’s 50th and final state with him on a family trip: Hawaii. I love listening to his stories about all of the places he’s visited. When I asked him what his favorite state was he said Hawaii, so it sounds like he saved the best for last!

In an effort to be on the “quest for all 50” myself I decided I wanted to buy something that would help me to keep track of all the states I’ve visited. When I was shopping at Micheals the other week I found a metal hanging map of the US and knew it would be the perfect piece. I hung it up in my room with the background of my painted styrofoam ceiling tiles and  think it looks great! I bought small gold stickers to place on each state as I visit it. I will look forward to experiencing what our country has to offer through the years and I hope to share those travel experiences with you here on the blog as they happen! 17 down and 33 to go!!

Enjoy your weekend! Thanks so much for reading 🙂

#sugarspiceandstylethatsnice #questforall50

xoxo Jen

 

 

Leave a Reply

