a grateful fridge

Yesterday I received 2 Valentines (how lucky am I!) One from the world’s best dog and one from the world’s best parents. I think Luna may have received a little help picking out the card…. ๐Ÿ™‚ When I got home last night I hung both of the cards up on my fridge, as I often do with any cards I receive. As I was hanging them up I took a second to look at everything I have hanging on my fridge at the moment and I couldn’t help but smile.

There are days where life feels overwhelming or stress of different things piling up seems to feel like too much. I also have days where I feel pretty lonely. Living alone can definitely do that to you, but don’t get me wrong there are TONS of great things about living by yourself. As I was hanging those cards up last night and admiring the different things I have up on my fridge, I felt grateful.ย 

img_2281

As I looked at thank you cards, postcards, wedding invitations, photos, baby shower invitations, funny and sentimental magnets I was reminded how much I have to be grateful for in my life. How neat is it that I have important people in my life who are willing to give me a note of thanks, people who extend an invitation to their wedding to me, photos of baby cousins who I am blessed to have, and even a letter asking me to be a bridesmaid for a best friend of mine?

P.S. One of my favorite parts of my fridge is the Napoleon Dynamite magnets ๐Ÿ˜€ They were given to me as a graduation gift from a teacher of mine who knew just how much I love that movie and they still crack me up to this day.

I am always one to hold on to cards from any occasion. Once or twice a year I sit down and go through a special box I have filled with cards from past birthdays, graduation, Christmas, and other events. I love to read the special messages and words people wrote to me throughout different stages of my life. When I read them there are often tears at reading the words of someone who is no longer in my life and there are just as many smiles at the words of those who always know just what to say to make me laugh.

I’m happy that last night something as interesting as the perspective I have on my fridge could make such an impact on me. Now I am looking forward to keeping my fridge as I place where I hang things that make me smile and remembering to take it all in as often as I can. Even though the Christmas cards I received are taken down and packed away in my special box to look at later my fridge is still full of reminders of all the great people I am lucky to have in my life and how many things I have to look forward to!

What do all of you have hanging up on your fridges that makes you smile? Or do you have another place in your house where you keep things that are special to you?

Thanks for reading!!

#sugarspiceandstylethatsnice

xoxo Jen

Leave a Reply

