continuum: 10 years of greatness

Today is the 10th anniversary of one of my favorite albums: Continuum by John Mayer. In the 10 years that this album has been around it’s hard to describe the influence that these songs had on me but I’m going to try!

john_mayer-continuum-frontal

I remember first being introduced to John Mayer and his music by the summer nanny that my brother and I had growing up (I hope you’re reading this Kristen!!!) I was really young at the time and had no idea what an impact John Mayer and his music would make on me as a grew up through high school and college.

My “John obsession” probably reached it’s highest peak in my middle to late high school years when I was about 16-17 years old. His album following Continuum, Battle Studies, which came out in 2009 had an official release date of the day after my birthday and I remember placing my pre-order online for the album and actually receiving the album a day early…which at the time was the world’s BEST birthday gift. That album came with me that following week on the bus to Kansas City for a church trip and I remember listening to it on my walkman on repeat, all the way there and all the way back.

In April of 2010 I had the unforgettable opportunity of seeing John live for the very first time during his Battles Studies tour at the Fargodome. I remember sitting on Ticketmaster, anxiously refreshing the page and trying to have the world’s fastest clicks when the clock turned to the top of the hour when I was able to purchase tickets. My speed and anxiousness paid off and I was able to get 2nd row tickets to the show with my friend Sarah who was equally as “John obsessed”. It’s hard to describe how the night of the concert felt and all of the emotions I had but I remember crying tears when he came on stage for the first time and had many other moments of tears as he played some of my favorite songs.

In 2012 I was fortunate enough to see John live a second time….this time in perhaps one of the world’s most breathtaking, unique concert venues….Red Rocks in Denver, Colorado. I went to the show with my good friend Rachel and I experienced all of the same emotions I did in 2010 but this time with an even more incredible backdrop.

Although it’s a difficult task to pick my favorite of all of John Mayer’s albums I would say that Continuum would top the list. Each and every song strikes such a chord (no music pun intended!) with me in different ways and comes in tune with different emotions. John’s voice is a masterpiece all it’s own but even more awe-inspiring is his guitar playing. He is gifted beyond measure and watching him solo and play at the concerts was magical to say the least.

While I love every track on Continuum for a different reason, “Gravity” will always be the most special song to me. It was special enough to become permanent words on my body as the most powerful line to me became my first (and only so far) tattoo. In interviews I have watched or read from John this is often brought up as one of the songs he is most proud of and connected to as well. Below is a picture of my tattoo which was beautifully done in Japan by Curran’s tattoo artist.

11355912_438733922953021_1463101056_n

I look at it every day and smile because the words “Just keep me where the light is” remind me of powerful things. Staying in the light to me means keeping yourself out of the dark places that we pull ourselves into or that we allow others to pull us into. Everyone’s dark places are different; maybe it’s when you’re lonely, maybe it’s when you’re overwhelmed…whatever it may be it’s important to be conscious and pull yourself back into a place filled with light. Sometimes we can do that on our own but sometimes that requires the help of other people. These words might mean something different to everyone but that is how I can best describe what they mean to me. The light keeps you warm and it’s the best place to be.

John Mayer also released a live, recorded concert version from his Continuum tour and named the show and the DVD “Where the Light Is”. This DVD has been watched COUNTLESS times by me and when I have tough days I find it one of the first places I go….throw it in the DVD player, whether I’m focusing on watching every moment or just having it play in the background it gives me a sense of calm and comfort.

I wanted to share this with all of you in the hopes that I’ll have some equally obsessed John readers listen to Continuum tonight for old time’s sake AND in the hopes that I’ll bring some of you readers to the John Mayer world if you are new. If you would ever like to borrow the album or the DVD I would be more than happy to lend it to you (as long as you promise to give it back 😉 hahaha)

And mostly, this post is a public thank you to John Mayer. I know many people who have an artist or a band that have brought a lot to their life and John Mayer is definitely that artist for me. He has got me through lots of long trips in the car alone (our duets together sound pretty good, in my opinion!), some unforgettable nights in concert, as well as helping me through some tough nights of tears. But, most of all, he’s brought me a huge collection of music that will always feel like home when I play it.

Here is a link for all of you to check out….my favorite version of my favorite song. John playing   Gravity in his “Where the Light Is” concert live in LA. I hope you’ll listen and enjoy 🙂

Happy 10 year anniversary to Continuum and thank you all for reading!! John has been keeping his fans updated lately and it sounds like there is more new music to come from him soon….the word soon is so tricky because who knows what soon means, but I’ll be waiting!!

P.S. In case anyone was wondering John is still looking handsome as ever in 2016!! Another tip I should share with any other John Mayer fans out there is that he is by far the funniest “friend” I have on snapchat…I encourage you to add him and see all the shenanigans he is up to!

john-mayer

xoxo

Jen

Leave a Reply

